My Makeup Products

*Another product review!  This time I’m going over my makeup products.  All products can be found on the E.L.F. website, and all are cruelty free.

*I did not get these products for free, nor was I reimbursed in any way.  I use all Elf because their products are super inexpensive (most of these are $3 or less!), the company is cruelty free, and I’ve read great reviews on beauty blogs.

*I don’t have a camera so I can’t do swatches for you, but a quick Google search will turn up plenty.  I always do a search before I decide on the product color.

*A note about buying from E.L.F.- Fill up your cart and then wait for a big sale.  They run 40% or 50% promotions often so it’s worth waiting a few weeks to order.  This is also why you shouldn’t buy in-store (E.L.F. is available at stores like Target and Walmart).  By all means check out the colors in-store, but definitely buy online.

ELF Studio 3 in 1 Mascara.  This will not give you magnificent lashes; it’s a natural but pretty mascara.  Adds some length and volume and gives good separation.  I dig it.  It’s not waterproof but I can wear it all day without any smudging or flaking.  Easy to take off with a makeup wipe.

ELF Studio HD Blush in Encore.  I only use cream or gel blush, because I have dry skin.  This stuff is a bit trickier to apply than cream blush, but it didn’t take long for me to figure it out: I put a dot on the back of my hand, spread it out, get a bit of product on my brush, and gently buff it into my cheeks.  The product is freakishly pigmented, so you really only need to push the pump gently to get a tiny bit, and you still won’t even need all that comes out.  There is no shimmer (I loathe and despise shimmer), and the blush has great staying power.  It applies like a gel but functions as a stain, so once the color dries it stays put and doesn’t fade for hours.

ELF Studio Prism Eyeshadow in Naked.  I’m not big on shimmer eyeshadow, but I still love this pallet.  I use it if I’m going out at night to create a “natural” eye that has a little pizazz.  I apply the shadow with a brush and on top of primer and it lasts a long time without creasing or smudging.  It does have a lot of fallout, so tap your brush before applying.

ELF Essential All Over Color Stick in Persimmon.  I use this as a highlight on my cheekbones.  If I’m doing a look with just mascara and blush, I’ll add this to the inner corners of my eyes and my brow bone.  It gives a great gleam without being glittery and brightens up my face.

ELF Studio Eyebrow Kit in Medium.  I think of this as my peer pressure product: I had no interest in filling in my brows until I started watching YouTube beauty bloggers.  I jumped on the “it really frames your face!” bandwagon and never looked back.  I don’t like the powder in this set; it’s way too red for my skin and hair.  But the gel is freaking awesome.  It looks completely natural and in addition to filling in my sparse spots it also helps hold my brows in place.

fecfedELF Essential Smudge Pot in Cruisin Chic.  This comes out a lot more bronze on my skin than it looks here.  I generally use it as a base under the darker colors in the palette above.  It has great staying power: no creasing or smudging.

vrfeeELF Essential Flawless Eyeshadow in Tantalizing Taupe.  This eyeshadow is ridiculously good for being two bucks.  You do have to tap your applicator to prevent fallout, but this stuff doesn’t budge once it’s on and doesn’t fade for a good long time; like eight hours.  I usually use the crease color on my lid and the liner color on my outer-v for some depth.  I also use it as directed; either way gives a very pretty neutral look.  I also have this palette in Blushing Beauty (purples), but the pigmentation of that palette is pretty lacking, so I think with this particular pallet the quality is a crap shoot from color to color.

Tools:  ELF Studio Eyeshadow PrimerELF Studio Small Stippling Brush, ELF Essential Eyeshadow Brush, ELF Essential Eye Crease Brush

Leave a Reply

