There’s something I haven’t been talking about

11058658_10152365893707325_2806778872100982769_n

Police brutality and the killings of black people are just too hard for me to talk about.  I read about the murders and circumstances and I look at the pictures of the people killed, and my heart hurts.  I sometimes have to take a break from Tumblr, because when a black face shows up on my dash I know what I’m about to read.  The sheer brunt force of the news is painful enough, but then I have to deal with the facts that black women are so often ignored by protestors and the media.  Being black in America isn’t pretty, and that’s hard for me to talk about.  I can talk about racism and sexism on my blog, but talking about police brutality is just beyond me.  Be sure that I stay aware, but I’m not strong enough to do anything but stay silent.

Leave a Reply

