Buy This, Not That

Here are some products that didn’t work for me, and the products I recommend in their place.  For reference, I have dry, curly and frizzy hair, and dry, blemish prone skin with a bumpy texture and large pores.  All products are cruelty free.

nip scrubUntitled

 

Nip+Fab Glycolic Fix Scrub

vs

Sheamoisture African Black Soap Problem Skin Face Wash and Scrub

 

 

 

Now, this is a recommendation specific to my skin type.  I’ve only ever seen rave reviews for the Sheamoisture scrub from people with oily and/or acneic skin, but I saw zero improvement in my skin when using it.  The Nip+Fab scrub has helped a lot with my smaller blemishes and I enjoy the texture and smell.

glycolic padsdragon pads

Nip+Fab Glycolic Fix Night Pads Extreme

vs

Nip+Fab Dragon’s Blood Fix Pads

 

The Dragon’s Blood pads are another product that didn’t do anything for my skin.  The Glycolic pads have helped with blemishes but don’t dry out my skin.  I can actually get away with using a pad and not following up with a moisturizer for a night or two without getting dry patches, which is awesome because I am ultra lazy about my night time skin care.

Untitledtomato mask

Freeman Feeling Beautiful Charcoal and Black Sugar Mask

vs

Yes To Tomatoes Detoxifying Charcoal Mud Mask

 

 

 

The Yes To mask was such a let down; once more a product that provided no results.  It’s a lot smaller than the Freeman mask, and more than twice the price.  The Freeman mask has drastically minimized those spots that everyone has one their nose and thinks are black heads but are actually… sebaceous filaments?  Pretty sure that’s what they’re called.  I’m sure you know what I’m talking about.  Anyway, I have a lot less of them and they’re now so small that I have to get up close to my mirror to see them.  It’s also almost completely eliminated actual black heads, as well as helping with the unfortunate texture of my skin.  I only use it once a week, but when I skip a week I have more breakouts.  This stuff is amazing.

banana maskdragon mask

 

Freeman Feeling Beautiful Banana Oat Smoothing Mask

vs

Nip+Fab Dragon’s Blood Fix Plumping Mask

After having such good luck with other Nip+Fab products, this mask was a huge let down.  Plus, once again, it costs more than twice as much as the Freeman mask for a lot less product.  I even tried using the Nip+Fab mask overnight several nights in a row… Did nada.  I’m getting cranky just thinking about all those mornings I woke up with a sticky, fuzzy face that was no smoother or softer than the day before.  When I first used the Freeman mask I was disappointed because it’s a gel and I wanted a cream.  Then I was annoyed because it took longer to wash off than I wanted.  (Seriously.  I’m so lazy that this is something I complain about.)  But after letting it sit on my skin for no more than ten minutes my skin was softer than it’s ever fucking been.  You guys… I sat around, watching tv and stroking my face for the rest of the night.  I was creeping myself out but couldn’t stop.  My skin felt so nice!  I don’t like the banana smell, but it’s not super strong and maybe you like bananas.  I don’t know your life.

I hope this was helpful!

Leave a Reply

